Scottish Law Online > Discussion Forum Community Home | Search | Contact

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

The forum has recently been upgraded to the 2010 release of YaBB 2!
Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Scots Law in England (Read 59857 times)
robertsont
Newbies

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Scots Law in England
May 26th, 2003 at 7:44pm

Hi,

I'm a student at Edinburgh University studying Scots law. Can anyone tell me what the process is if I want to practice law in England having taken the diploma in leglal practice in Scotland and how long this takes? (English Property Law exams?) Am I required to do my traineeship in Scoltand or England?

Secondly, is having a non-hons degree going to be detrimental to finding alternative employment should I decide against law? (it will still be an LLB)

Many thanks in advance,

Tom

IP Logged

scottishlaw

London
Re: Scots Law in England
Reply #1 - May 28th, 2003 at 6:12am

What year are you in?

If you have taken the Diploma in Scotland you may be better to do the traineeship in Scotland then convert.  If you haven't yet, it is easier to do the one year Scots to English conversion course then do the one year english equivalent of the Diploma.

If you have already qualified as a Scottish Solicitor, I think it only takes a couple of weeks to do the exams and you can study in your part time while you are working in a firm before that.

I don't know how easy it is to jump from Scottish diploma directly to English traineeship.  There are quite a few firms in Scotland that can give you a UK wide traineeship:

McGrigors;
D&W;
DLA;
Masons;
Shepherds; and
a few others too...

Obviously some of these encourage it more than others.  With these firms you may be able to leave the Diploma and start off in one of their English offices. 

Have you started considering applying for a job yet?

IP Logged

JOANNA
Newbies

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #2 - Aug 30th, 2003 at 3:42am

hi there