Scottish Law Online > Discussion Forum Community Home | Search | Contact

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Welcome to the Scottish Law Online forum.
Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Plagiarism - Advice needed (Read 3670 times)
BourneSupreme
Newbies

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Plagiarism - Advice needed
Feb 26th, 2005 at 1:45am

Hi,

I have been a passive browser of this site due to my interest and desire to go on and study graduate law.

However, a situation has occured which has prompted me to post and seek advice here. I hope you all can help.

I'm a medical Sciences student. I recently heard news that a lab report I submitted had been sent to the registrar for suspicions of plagiarism. I received an email from the registrar today titled "breach of regulations."

Basically, this is what the email states:

"Your examiners have found that a large proportion of the work you have submitted bears a very close relationship with work submitted by two of your fellow students: Mr John Myers and, particularly, Mr Stephen
Miller. In addition, there is some evidence that you used last year's results (the dilutions used this year were different). It appears that not only are your texts extremely similar; but that you have each got the same things right and the same things wrong.

The examiners believe that either you have copied your fellow students' work, or that they have copied yours; or that the three of you have worked together effectively to produce a joint submission. In any case, this would be a breach of the Assessment Regulations (enclosed 2): either 3.1 (which concerns writing material in your own words) or 3.4 (which concerns giving help to or receiving help from other students.

In accordance with the procedures (enclosed 3) this matter will now be referred to an Investigating Dean, who must decide whether there is a case for you to answer. If so, she may wish to interview you about