Scottish Law Online > Discussion Forum Community Home | Search | Contact

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Welcome to the Scottish Law Online forum.
Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
help me plz (Read 11584 times)
legal bee

I Love YaBB 2!

Glasgow
help me plz
Jan 30th, 2008 at 12:56pm

guys im a final year law student and have not managed to secure a traineeship for next year. i cant even seem to  get a summer placement and im really stressed.  I've applied everywhere and been rejected.  Cry

how would i go about trying to find which smaller law firm would take on a summer placement or a trainee? I have sent out speculative letters and CV's but no one gets back to me.  If i phone up after a couple of weeks I just get told we don't take on students. 

totally stressed and depressed
legal bee Cry

IP Logged

grumpy
God Member

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Re: help me plz
Reply #1 - Jan 31st, 2008 at 10:50am

This has been a problem for years with firms cutting back especially if they do legal aid. When I started off 25 years ago it was the same and I wrote speculatively to every firm in the West of Scotland and got two interviews! I retired from practice four years ago and my firm (small) took on the odd trainee and one worked for us for nothing during one summer holiday. That was looked on very favourably when she later asked for a traineeship. You are not alone in this and many of your fellow students will be in the same boat. Have you also tried the law society to see if they keep a list of firms who are willing to take on trainees?

IP Logged

legal bee

I Love YaBB 2!

Glasgow
Reply #2 - Jan 31st, 2008 at 11:07am

hi grumpy, yea i cant even seem to get a unpaid summer placement. Most small firms simply say we don't take on students.  I'm at the stage where i would work for free just for the possibility of a traineeship and experience.  I'm completely at my wits end with this one.