Scottish Law Online > Discussion Forum Community Home | Search | Contact

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Signup for free on this forum and benefit from new features!
Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Where should I qualify? (Read 11540 times)
phoenixrisen
Newbies

I Love YaBB 2!

Where should I qualify?
Jan 1st, 2009 at 3:44am

Hi all,

I've seen the sticky topic on Scots Law in England but my query is slightly different...

I'm an English student at Manchester University, in my 2nd year of a BA in Religions & Theology. I want to train as a solicitor after completing my current course, but I would like to live and work in Scotland (as soon as is realistically possible). I understand that Scots Law is different to English Law and that the routes to qualifying are also different.

My question is, should I go down the English route of a Law Conversion Course and an LPC, then take the transfer test? I suppose I'm hoping that someone will say that the other option (doing an LLB in Scotland, followed by the diploma and vocational training) isn't as lengthy as it sounds...

The former route (qualifying in England, then transferring) seems like the most sensible, and the quickest (plus it would result in me having a dual qualification, right?) but could someone please tell me about the viability of my going straight from my current BA to study Scots Law, if I were to do that? Any information on finance options, costs, etc. would be especially appreciated, as that is my main concern.

Thanks very much in advance.

Regards,
Simone

IP Logged

phoenixrisen
Newbies

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: Where should I qualify?
Reply #1 - Jan 17th, 2009 at 5:09am

Never mind, I've decided to take a year out and apply to do an LLB the year after.  Smiley

IP Logged

LawConvert
Newbies

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #2 - Jan 4th, 2010 at 6:09pm

Hi Simone