Scottish Law Online > Discussion Forum Community Home | Search | Contact

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Signup for free on this forum and benefit from new features!
Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Work experience during uni (Read 6595 times)
Breadandcheese
Newbies

I Love YaBB 2!

Work experience during uni
Aug 20th, 2009 at 4:54pm

Hello all,

I've graduated with my LL.B. Originally I had very little intention of going into the legal profession - I did my degree for its academic merits, because I enjoyed it and because it seemed broad enough to be useful to a number of employers. In my last year, however, I became more inclined towards the idea of practicing. So I have arrange a diploma place, but I still lack law-based work experience. So, this summer being something of a bust, I'm pretty stuck for time.

Would it be possible/common for a student to be given work experience during the ordinary academic year for, say, a day and maybe a couple of afternoons a week, whilst obviously attending classes at other times? I imagine it won't help being in one of the smaller cities, Aberdeen in this case, but I'd certainly be interested to see if anyone has been engaged in anything similar.

IP Logged

CC87
Newbies

Falkirk
Re: Work experience during uni
Reply #1 - Aug 24th, 2009 at 11:13am

You probably won't find anything with the bigger firms in Aberdeen - they have set recruitment periods. But I'm sure a small practice might be more positive to taking you in now and then. Have you got a Diploma place? Which year are you looking for a traineeship to begin?

IP Logged

Breadandcheese
Newbies

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #2 - Aug 25th, 2009 at 11:56pm

CC87 wrote on Aug 24th, 2009 at 11:13am: