Scottish Law Online > Discussion Forum Community Home | Search | Contact

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Welcome to the Scottish Law Online forum.
Home Help Search Login Register

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Not Proven Verdict (Read 109649 times)
fiona
Newbies

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Not Proven Verdict
Apr 10th, 2003 at 8:51am

Hi all,

I am an Australian law student seeking information for my thesis on the Scottish Not Proven Verdict. I was wondering:

1) What your opinions are re Not Proven Verdict (advs & disadvs etc)

2) Where I could obtain further information re the not proven verdict.

Any feedback/information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks  Wink

IP Logged

scottishlaw

London
Re: Not Proven Verdict
Reply #1 - Apr 11th, 2003 at 4:37am

more info and history here:

http://www.siliconglen.com/Scotland/1_8.html

and more info here (look under "verdicts":

http://www.ltb.org.uk/criminalprocsummary.cfm

You'll probably get more info on US sites such as CNN when they covered Lockerbie. 

I hope this is quite a short thesis that you're writing?

IP Logged

scottishlaw

London
Reply #2 - Apr 11th, 2003 at 4:52am

According to that first link above - Not Guilty is the new verdict - originally the verdicts were Proven and Not Proven.  Its existense starts to appear more logical and makes more a lot more sense when you look at it that way.  It also takes some of the slur off the acquitted person whose verdict was Not Proven rather than Not Guilty.

In reality, criminal cases have b*gger all to do with who actually did the crime and more to do with who's counsel manages to convince the judge that they have proven their case.

So if you're getting rid of any verdict you should get rid of Not Guilty or at least rename it to "Not Guilty in the eyes of the law of the charges that were brought before the court" to make it clear that that was all that the court was being asked to decide.

IP Logged

jl1985
Newbies

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!