Scottish Law Online > Discussion Forum Community Home | Search | Contact

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Signup for free on this forum and benefit from new features!
Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Oath On The Stand (Read 10072 times)
gaztus
Newbies

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Oath On The Stand
Mar 26th, 2007 at 1:53am

I am a taxi driver and was having a discussion with a law student who didn't know the answer, hopefully someone can help.

When you take your oath on the stand "Do you promise to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth" or whatever the equivalent is in court, what if you answered No?  I won't tell the truth.  Do you have the right?  Would you be held in contempt of court and put in jail?
I don't have any impending court cases looming, just one of many discussion with my passengers.

Thanks in advance.   Wink

IP Logged

petrocelli

Re: Oath On The Stand
Reply #1 - Mar 26th, 2007 at 10:51am

You have the right to say whatever the heck you want.

Practically, however, if you were unable to give an asurance to the court that your evidence would be truthful, then it is extremely unlikely that anyone would want to take further evidence from you. It would strike both at the heart of the credibility of you as a witness, and the reliability of your evidence.

Conversely, as you are probably aware, if you were sworn in and subsequently deliberately told a lie, then you would have committed the offence of perjury.